Literature Online Prize Winner 2008


EMLS is pleased to announce the fourth winner of the annual Literature Online Prize. The 2008 Prize goes to Bradley D. Ryner for his article "Commodity Fetishism in Richard Brome’s A Mad Couple Well Matched and its Sources". Early Modern Literary Studies 13.3 (January, 2008) 4.1-26<URL: http://purl.oclc.org/emls/13-3/rynecomm.htm>.

The Literature Online Prize is sponsored by Chadwyck-Healey, the specialist humanities imprint of ProQuest Information and Learning and publishers of Literature Online (http://lion.chadwyck.co.uk; http://lion.chadwyck.com). The prize, to the value of £150, is awarded annually for the best article published in EMLS in the preceding twelve months, in the judgement of a committee appointed by the Editor and including a representative from Literature Online. Previous winners have been:

2007: Helga Duncan, "'Headdie Ryots' as Reformations: Marlowe's Libertine Poetics". Early Modern Literary Studies 12.2 (September, 2006) 2.1-38 <URL: http://purl.oclc.org/emls/12-2/duncmarl.htm>.

2006: Alexandra G. Bennett, for her article, "'Now let my language speake': The Authorship, Rewriting, and Audience(s) of Jane Cavendish and Elizabeth Brackley". Early Modern Literary Studies 11.2 (September, 2005) 3.1-13 <URL: http://purl.oclc.org/emls/11-2/benncav2.htm>.

2005: LaRue Love Sloan, for her article, "'Caparisoned like the horse': Tongue and Tail in Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew", Early Modern Literary Studies 10.2 (September, 2004) 1.1-24 <URL: http://purl.oclc.org/emls/10-2/sloacapa.htm>.